It’s probably worth pointing out at this early stage that at no point did I want to do this Pecha Kucha presentation. I didn’t see the point of it. Firstly, I’ve done hundreds of presentations before, so I don’t think doing one more could be seen as a benefit. Secondly, all we seem to do every tutorial is meet another tutor and go over a summary of all our work… and now we are doing the same thing, but with an added time constraint. It feels like a wasted few days which could be spent being more productive.

If you’re not aware of what a Pecha Lucha presentation is, it’s basically a powerpoint slideshow consisting of twenty slides, each lasting exactly twenty seconds each (giving you 6:40 to present your work. Apparently it is a big thing, and there are a few decent ones on the Pecha Kucha website.

I told myself not to waste too much time doing it, for the reasons above, but ended up probably spending about 3 days in total (24 hours) working on it. Time which could probably have been spent doing more productive things. Anyway, here is a rundown of my slides, and why they were included, and at the bottom you can watch the presentation slideshow I put together.

  1. Name card – I included a photo of myself as a youngster (aged about 6 or 7) to try and highlight the fact that I wasn’t taking this task, or this unit, too seriously. I’m trying to be quite relaxed about the whole thing, and I’m enjoying it a lot more since I made that decision. 
  2.  
  3.  
  4.  
  5.  
  6.  
  7.  
  8.  
  9.  
  10.  
  11.  
  12.  
  13.  
  14.  
  15.  
  16.  
  17.  
  18.  
  19.  
  20. Thanks (dog) – This end slide kind of reflects the first, in that it’s lighthearted and designed to echo the notion that I’m trying not to take things too seriously. Also, it’s a reminder that some things will never go to plan, but that doesn’t mean that you should write them off.

Our presentation session was basically in place of any teaching on Thursday. We all headed over to Guntons at 1.45pm, and by 2pm we were taking it in terms to present. One at a time, seven minutes each, and after every third presentation, the tutors (Suzie, Judith, and Marie) would give feedback to those who had just gone. My time slot was the penultimate one, so I had to sit in a plastic chair for about five and a half hours before doing anything, and it was a hell of a slog. No offence intended to the other students, but it is a hard graft to sit and listen to presentations for that long, especially when the confidence and skill of the presenters is so varied. Some people are naturally gifted public speakers, others are clearly not. There were a few really good ones, like Emmaalouise, and Lucy, and even Dom (who just used music and didn’t speak), but a few others were more difficult to follow. I wonder if those people were as enthusiastic as I was about the whole process. Anyway, after keeping myself awake and trying to stop my back from seizing up, it was my turn. I had a few little note cards on me with a two word summary of each slide (and a reminder of what was coming on the next slide) but after about 40 seconds I forgot they were in my hand so I just threw them to the floor.

I tried recording my presentation speech on the day with my phone, but it didn’t come out very well at all, so when I got home I used the Tascam and basically gave the presentation again, to myself, so I could record the audio properly. I’ve added it to the original video/slideshow I used, so now the presentation can be shared and relived as much as needed…

I’m now writing this a few days after the event and I’m trying to remember the feedback I got from the tutors. I can remember that it was all overwhelmingly positive, because I was somewhat surprised at the time. For a project I didn’t want to do, nor liked to do, apparently I did it quite well.

In summary, it was nice to get good feedback, and to see some of the work from other students, but I don’t think the unit has been managed efficiently to warrant this. I’ve already had four sixty minute sessions similar to this (without the slideshow) and now I’ve spent five hours doing the same thing when we’re getting dangerously close to the deadline. It probably fulfils a Learning Outcome or something, but it wasn’t my cup of tea. I guess I’m kind of glad that I saw some others, because I think Laure’s one on language was very interesting, and Elizabeth’s one about fashion and architecture was brilliant, and I had never known really what Lucy was working on (really awesome sounds/film scores) and that could be very handy in future. But I could have learned all this in one of our many seminars over the last few months.

 


 

