SOUND EFFECTS & FOLEY

I’m not sure if this is something I want to explore to the point of a realised project this module, but sound effects and foley work is something with intrigues me a great deal. I often watch the ‘making of’ style documentaries on blu-ray special features, and I’m always keen to know how things work, and why.

Below is a wonderful little short film called The Foley Artist (Oliver Holms, 2015), which begins as a portrayal of how foley in film works, but then takes on a life of it’s own. It’s very amusing…

And on a slightly more realistic level, this beautifully shot film called The Secret World of Foley (Daniel Jewell, 2014) which highlights the work and imagination that goes into foley. 

There’s also a wonderful piece on the Empire website about famous cinematic sound effects, and what foley artists used to produce them. There’s also a video on the subject from WatchMojo.com:

Premium Beat did an interesting piece on the three types of foley (footsteps, movement, and props) which includes some fun videos too, while techradar.com goes a bit more into the history of foley, too.

This is something I would really like to explore over the next few months, not only from a technical point of view, but it seems like it would be quite a niche career choice, so it might be a good idea to study up on it. As an aside, it would be interesting to consider how much one can play with the link between image and sound – how far are audience’s imagination willing to stretch to believe what’s shown in front of them? That could be an interesting project, and a theme which keeps coming up time and again during my research sessions. I don’t know why, but it seems to interest me.


